UNSW engineer elected to the Australian Academy of Science

Three UNSW academics, including Engineering’s Toby Walsh, are among 21 leading experts to be elected to the Australian Academy of Science, Australian science's highest honour.

UNSW Professors Toby Walsh, Justin Gooding and Fedor Sukochev and have been recognised for their outstanding contributions to artificial intelligence, mathematics and chemistry.

Professor Walsh from UNSW’s School of Computer Science and Engineering has made important scientific contributions in three closely related areas: artificial intelligence, constraint programming and computational social choice. These contributions have strongly influenced both the theory and practice of how optimisation problems are solved in industry.

As the Research Group Leader at NICTA, Professor Walsh has been a pioneer in theoretical artificial intelligence, building on ideas from fields including statistical physics, economics and game theory to study many complex and challenging optimisation problems such as scheduling and vehicle routing. His algorithms are included in the leading open source and commercial tool kits that are used to solve such problems in industry.

The new Fellows were admitted during a formal ceremony in Canberra today and present their work at ‘Science at the Shine Dome’ on 24 May.

Share this