Nanostructured Layered Double Hydroxide Based Photocatalysts for Solar Fuels and Value-added Chemicals

26 July 2019 - 11:00am to 12:00pm
Room G02, Ground Floor, Science & Engineering Building


Some very recent research progress in my group will be reported on the rational design of nanostructured layered double hydroxides based photocatalysts with heterointerface active sites for photoreduction of CO2 or CO into high value-added hydrocarbons with high selectivity, originating from the adjusted reaction pathway of intermediates. For instance, by constructing heterogeneous interface structure, NiO/Ni nanocatalysts exhibited an unexpectedly high selectivity of 60% for C2-C7 hydrocarbons in the CO hydrogenation reaction under visible-light irradiation.


Dr. Tierui Zhang is a full Professor in Technical Institute of Physics and Chemistry (TIPC), Chinese Academy of Sciences (CAS). He received his B.S. in Chemistry in 1998, and Ph.D. in Organic Chemistry in 2003 from Jilin University in China. After that, he did postdoctoral study in Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, University of Alberta, University of Arkansas and University of California-Riverside, respectively. His research activity focuses on catalyst nanomaterials for energy conversion such as photocatalytic solar fuels and value-added chemicals. He has published more than 180 peer reviewed SCI journal articles in international famous journals such as Adv. Mater., Angew. Chem. and J. Am. Chem. Soc. These publications have earned him to date over 10000 citations with H-index 54. He was named in the annual Highly Cited Researchers 2018 List by Clarivate Analytics. Dr. Zhang is the associate editor of Science Bulletin and also serves as an editorial board member for peer-reviewed journals including Advanced Energy Materials, Solar RRL, ChemPhysChem, Scientific Reports. He is the recipient of a number of awards including Alexander von Humboldt Fellowship, Royal Society-Newton Advanced Fellowship, National Program for Support of Top-notch Young Professionals, “Outstanding Young Scholars” of the National Science Fund, “Hundred Talents Program” Scholars of Chinese Academy of Sciences. He was named a fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (FRSC) in 2017. More information can be found from his homepage.

Share this