Industry Advisory Committee


The UNSW Civil and Environmental Engineering School's Industry Advisory Committee (IAC) comprises up to 18 members. These members represent a number of distinguished employer groups, a range of professional disciplines, graduates and staff from the School.  The composition of the committee is reviewed from time to time and meets four times each year.

The IAC's role is to advise the Head of School on industry views of the undergraduate and graduate programs and research directions for the School. Particular briefs may also be provided to the IAC at various times to address specific issues that arise in the School. The IAC may also raise issues that they would like to see investigated and provide some advice on these to the Head of School. 

Industry Advisory Committee Working with CVEN UNSW

IAC Committee Members

Ian McIntyre, (Chair), Principal and Global Service Lead, Contractual Services, Advisian
Deirdre Agnew, Student Careers Advisor
Christine Atkins, Transport for NSW
Laurie Foy, Consultant
Dr James Glastonbury, Engineering Director, Engineering Excellence Group, Laing O’Rourke
Andrew Johnson, Principal, ARUP
Ross Jones, Vice President Buildings & Infrastructure Eastern Region, Jacobs
Dr Kourosh Kayvani, Managing Director – Design, Innovation & Eminence, Aurecon
David Kinniburgh, Australian Market Leader - Transportation, GHD
Garry Mostyn, Principal, Pells Sullivan Meynink
Paul Plowman, General Manager, Liveable City Solutions - Sydney Water
Iain Scoular, Senior Advisor, E3 Advisory
Narelle Underwood, NSW Surveyor-General
Athena Venios, Director, Greater Sydney Project Office, RMS

Professor Stephen Foster, Head of School, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UNSW
Associate Professor Ron Cox, External Relations Ctte, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UNSW
Dr Kurt Douglas, Chair, External Relations Ctte, Civil & Environmental Engineering, UNSW
Dr Mary O'Connell, External Relations Manager, Civil & Environmental EngineeringUNSW