The legendary John Trinder gives his last class

The legendary John Trinder gives his last classOn Friday, 19 October 2018 Emeritus Professor John Trinder  gave his last lecture to UNSW students. He has been teaching at UNSW for 53 years.  His last lecture was as up-to-date as ever - covering the principles and the latest technical information of photogrammetry. One of his former students, and academic colleague Dr Bruce Harvey said “It was a pleasure to be there”.  

John is a UNSW alumnus, a former Head of School, the winner of many international awards and a leader nationally and internationally. His research and research supervision will continue.

John graduated from UNSW with a BSurv in 1963, MSc at ITC in The Netherlands (1965), returning to UNSW to undertake his PhD which he completed in 1971.  He was employed at the School of Surveying and Geospatial Engineering (now part of the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering) at UNSW from 1965 to 1999, progressing to the position of Professor in 1991 and Head of School from 1990-1999.  He is currently Emeritus Professor in the School of Civil and Environmental Engineering.

John has undertaken teaching and research at UNSW for more than 50 years, specializing in a range of topics in spatial information, and has published over 180 scientific papers in journals and conference proceedings. He has received several awards with the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing for research papers published in their journal, Photogrammetric Engineering and Remote Sensing. 

He has held a number of executive positions in the Council of the International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ISPRS), including Treasurer from 1992-1996, Secretary General from 1996-2000, President from 2000-2004, First Vice President from 2004-2008 and is an Honorary Member of ISPRS.  He was awarded the Spatial Sciences Institute’s Eminent Persons Award in Australia in 2004, Honorary Fellow of The Surveying and Spatial Science Institute (SSSI) in 2011 and made a UNSW Honorary Fellow in 2013.

Share this