Malcolm Chaikin Prize

Eisa ZareporCongratulations to UNSW Computing's Eisa Zarepour on being shortlisted for the 2015 Malcolm Chaikin Prize

The Malcolm Chaikin Prize is given each year to the doctoral student in the Faculty of Engineering who is judged to have produced the best PhD thesis, in any field of Engineering, within the calendar year.

In order to recognize the winner, two graduated PhDs would be nominated from each school by the HOS. Then 3 finalists would be shortlisted by a judging panel in the Faculty of Engineering. The finalists should give a brief talk in front of judges and finally the winner would be selected which would be awarded by a medal and $10,000 cache.

In Eisa Zarepour words: 

I completed my PhD degree last year within three years under the supervision of Prof Mahbub Hassan and co-supervision of A/Professor Chun Tung Chou. I was the first PhD in Australia in the emerging multidisciplinary research field of computer networking at nanoscale and my PhD thesis titled “Efficient Communication Protocols for Wireless Nanoscale Sensor Networks”.

During my PhD, I have published a book chapter and a total of 20 papers (5 journals plus 15 conference papers), including three ranked A journal papers and four in very selective ranked A conferences. I have also got five more under review papers in top tier journals. 

My PhD also won a total of five awards. I received the UNSW Innovator of the Year – People’s Choice Award, Best Australian NASSCOM Innovation Award, Best PhD Forum Paper Award at IEEE WoWMoM, and Best Poster Award in IEEE Technology of the Future event all in 2014. I have also won the post-doctoral writing fellowship from Faculty of Engineering. 

I now serve as Visiting Fellow at UNSW and a research fellow at Sharif University of Technology which is the first ranked Engineering University in Iran.

Share this