Scholarships  Availability  Eligibility Criteria Duration Closing   Date Description

The Eliathamby Ambikairajah Awards in Leadership and Humanitarian (Will be re-opened in 2016)



The Eliathamby Ambikairajah Engineering Leadership Award for students who enrolled in BE ME program.

The Eliathamby Ambikairajah Humanitarian Engineering Award for students who enrolled in the programs offered by school of Electrical Engineering & Telecommunications.


NICTA-UNSW Undergraduate Research Scholarship

Australian Citizen/Permanent Resident

Applications are open to recevent high school leavers enrolling in 2013 in one of the following undergraduate degree programs BE or BE ME in the School of Electrical Engineering & Telecommunicationsand BE BSc in the School of Computer Science.

(*Applicants enrolling in the BE (Flexible First Year) and a concurrent degree other than BE ME are not eligible for consideration)


Graham Painton Rural Scholarship in Electrical Engineering & Telecommunications

Australian Citizen/Permanent Resident

The applicant's family must have lived in a rural or isolated area of Australia for at least four years of the applicant's High School studies. Also the applicant must have attended secondary school in a rural or isolated area for at least four years. Rural areas will be considered according to the Commonwealth's Accessibility/Remoteness Index of Australia (ARIA) and the Rural, Remote, Metropolitan Areas (RRMA) classification.



UNSW Co-op  Scholarship



The UNSW Co-op Program is open to high achieving school leavers, or students returning from a GAP year, entering first year in one of the listed programs.

4-5 years for the duration of the program



Taste of Research Summer Scholarship

Local and International


Must be a high achieving 3rd year undergraduate student enrolled in a full-time program (2nd year students may be considered in special circumstances)

12 weeks project


Faculty of Engineering Rural Scholarship


  • the applicant's family must have lived in a rural or isolated area for at least four years of the applicant's high school studies
  • the applicant should have attended secondary school in a rural or isolated area for at least four years
  • the applicant must be completing the New South Wales HSC (or equivalent) in the year of the application or the previous year (but must not have commenced tertiary study)

Up to four years, subject to satisfactory progress


NICTA Telecommunication Excellence Awards

Local and International

High achiever of first, second, third and fourth year students in Telecommunications degree.

Once off prize monies

TBA - November 

National ICT Australia (NICTA) is proud to recognise the best performing telecommunications students in the School of EE&T with an excellence award.



API Bursaries



API offers a bursary program to students undertaking degree level studies in engineering relevant to the power industry at particular Australian universities

There is a recognised scarcity of engineering graduates with power industry oriented skills, who choose to work in the power industry. Through the API Bursary Program, API aims to address this issue in collaboration with relevant universities across Australia and industry.



 Ausgrid Cadetship       
 Endeavour Energy Cadetship