Prestigious award for UNSW engineer

For his ground-breaking research in quantum computing, UNSW engineer Professor Andrea Morella has been awarded a prestigious honour by the Royal Society of New South Wales – the Pollock Memorial Lectureship.

Prof. Andrea Morello, School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications, UNSW

The Lectureship has only been awarded about every four years since 1949 and is sponsored by the University of Sydney and the Royal Society of NSW in memory of Professor J.A. Pollock, Professor of Physics at the University of Sydney between 1899-1922, and a member of the Society for 35 years.

The most recent winners were Nobel Laureate and Vice-Chancellor of the Australian National University, Professor Brian Schmidt, in 2009, and UNSW scientist Scientia Professor Michelle Simmons, in 2013.

Morello, a professor in the School of Electrical Engineering and Telecommunications and head of the Quantum Spin Control group in the Centre of Excellence for Quantum Computation and Communication Technology, is an internationally recognised leader in quantum science and technology.

He was awarded the Lectureship for “inventing and demonstrating all of the fundamental building blocks of a silicon quantum computer.”

Morello specialises in developing single-atom quantum devices in silicon, the building blocks of a universal quantum computer. His group was the first in the world to demonstrate the read-out and the control of the quantum state of a single electron and a single nuclear spin in silicon.

In 2011, Morello was jointly awarded the Eureka Prize for Scientific Research and in 2013 he won the Malcolm McIntosh Prize for Physical Scientist of the Year and the David Syme Research Prize.

In 2014 he received a NSW Science and Engineering Award and in 2015 he was named in the inaugural Knowledge Nation 100 by the Australian Knowledge Society.

Last year he was the inaugural recipient of the Rolf Landauer and Charles H. Bennett Award in Quantum Computing by the prestigious American Physical Society, the world's leading organisation of physicists.

Share this