Faculty of Engineering Student Service Awards

Established in 2010, the UNSW Faculty of Engineering Student Service Awards reward and encourage exceptional and outstanding service by students for the student community.Faculty of Engineering Student Service Awards

There are up to three awards given each year – depending on merit. Award winners receive an official certificate recognizing the achievement, an entry on the UNSW Supplementary Transcript, and prize money (in 2014, the Awards are valued at $1,000 each).

Who is eligible?

Faculty of Engineering Students – All students enrolled in a degree program within the UNSW Faculty of Engineering are eligible for Award nomination. Students enrolled in the combined Bachelor of Engineering / Bachelor of Laws and the combined Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) / Bachelor of Digital Media are also eligible.

Teams/Groups – Teams and groups are also eligible for nomination, but only one award will be presented to the team as a whole. The team or group must consist of usually up to three students (mainly from the Faculty of Engineering) who have worked together to implement or achieve an outstanding service. Team/group leaders can be nominated as an individual.

Previous Award Winners –Recipients of a Faculty Student Service Award (Individual or Team) are not eligible for nomination in the following year. For example, the recipient of a 2013 Award may not be nominated until nominations open for the 2015 Awards.

What kind of ‘services’ can win

The Awards celebrate an exceptional and outstanding service to the UNSW or Faculty student community, and look at the following:

  • An exceptional and outstanding achievement or success
  • Outstanding service to the UNSW or Faculty student community, like organising a large student event or ongoing involvement in mentoring
  • An outstanding or novel initiative which has been implemented, like improvements to student communications
  • Any work significantly promoting collaborative relations with external organisations
  • Participation in working groups for the improvement of UNSW.

Have some questions?

If you would like to know more about the Faculty of Engineering Student Service Awards, or if you have a question, please send us an email

Nomination Forms


Nomination Form for Individuals

Nomination Form for Teams

Past Recipients of the Student Service Awards


Name Ind/Team School
Rohin Simpson Individual Civil/Mining Engineering
Jessica Chau Team Chemical Engineering
Tom Perfrement Team Chemical Engineering


Name Ind/Team School
Di He Individual Civil & Environmental Engineering
Jennifer Chang Individual Chemical Engineering
Alexandra Le Fevre Individual Mechanical & Manufacturing Eng


Name Ind/Team School
Meganne Christian Individual Chemical Engineering
Alexandra Dandie Individual Mechanical and Manufacturing Engineering
Hannah Mahony-Hayes Individual Civil and Environmental Engineering


Name Ind/Team School
Simon Lewis Individual Electrical Engineering & Telecommunications
Belinda Teh Team Computer Science & Engineering
Anne Ngo Team Chemical Engineering / Biomedical Engineering
Adam Brimo Individual Computer Science & Engineering